Board of Governors


Our 2017 Board of Governors  


The principal responsibility of the board is to ensure that the School is run in accordance with its charitable objectives and that all the functions of the School are authorised by the powers provided by its Articles of Association, company and charity law and in relation to risk management and legal compliance. The strategy and development of the School is set by the Governors who approve the plans and budgets presented by the Headmistress and Bursar. The Full Board meets once a term and is supported by the Audit, Carrdus, Design, Development, Education, Finance and General Purposes, and Nominations Committees. Each Committee meets at least once a term and submits reports and recommendations to the Board, with the exception of the Audit Committee, which convenes at least once a year, and the Development and Design Committees, which convene as required. Tudor Hall School Enterprises Ltd papers are submitted to the Tudor Hall board for consideration. External professional advice is sought as and when necessary. The Trustees are all volunteers and their support is essential in ensuring that Tudor Hall School continues to thrive.

The Board seeks to ensure that its members provide the breadth and depth of experience to carry out its duties effectively and efficiently. It is important that the trustees have empathy with the objects, aims and ethos of the School; to achieve this the board is made up of independent members, Old Tudorians, and current and former parents so as to maintain balance and perspective.

The day-to-day running of the School is delegated to the Headmistress and the Bursar who both attend the Board and relevant Committees, together with the Head of Carrdus School as appropriate. Other members of senior management attend relevant meetings as required.

Committee Membership

John Gloag is the Chairman of Governors. He is the Land Agent and Estates Bursar at Merton College, Oxford, responsible for the College’s property Endowment, overseeing new building work and maintaining the fabric of buildings. He qualified at the Royal Agricultural College before working in land and rural property management for Knapman and Bament, and then Strutt and Parker. John is a member of the University Committee that advises on the property element of the University’s Endowment and also holds a number of other trusteeships.

Duncan Bailey, Chairman of the Carrdus Committee, is Headmaster of Cothill House - an Independent boarding school for boys aged 8-13. Before that he was Directeur at the Château de Sauveterre for 8 years. He began his teaching career at Eton College (where he had been a student) after language degrees at the University of Manchester, and then later, Vienna University. He is tri-lingual and a very keen sportsman and is a current parent at Tudor Hall.

Simon Biggart qualified in and practiced law in Scotland before moving to the Corporate Dept at SJ Berwin, London and then to Coopers and Lybrand also in London, where he worked in the fraud and financial investigation and insurance units of their Insolvency Department. Since 1995 Simon has been involved in the running of a family property investment company and is currently the Managing Director. He is a current parent at Tudor Hall and a former parent at Carrdus School. 

Sally Bowie, Old Tudorian, is currently Deputy Lieutenant of Leicestershire and Trustee of the Music Foundation for Leicester Cathedral and a Governor of De Montfort University.  Sally is involved in a number of charities and appeals including Women and Philanthropy, the Lord Lieutenant of Leicestershire’s Panel which nominates Young People awards and she is Vice President of the Rural Community Council of Leicestershire and Rutland.  Sally is a former parent of Tudor Hall.

Charlotte Duncombe, Old Tudorian, is currently a freelance executive assistant with a background working in the City for a number of financial institutions including CS First Boston, Swiss Bank Corporation, and Fleming Family and Partners. Charlotte is an active supporter of the Old Tudorian Association.

John Elliot, Chairman of the Finance and General Purposes Committee, qualified as a Chartered Accountant in Oxford before attending agricultural college and returning to manage the family and estate management business. He is Chairman of United Oilseeds and VRL Sourcing together with being a non-executive director of NFU Mutual and Countrywide Farmers. John is a former parent of Tudor Hall.

Kathy Fidgeon, Chairman of the Audit Committee, is a Chartered Accountant. As a partner at Grant Thornton, Chartered Accountants, for 22 years she specialised in charities and not for profit entities, education, property and agriculture. Kathy left Grant Thornton in 2013 to set up her own practice in which she continues to focus on these specialisms. She is a director of Tudor Hall School Enterprises Ltd.

Victoria Harley, Chairman of the Design Committee. She manages part of Brampton Bryan Estate and concentrates on the preservation and reuse of traditional and historic buildings together with landscape conservation. Previously a director at Sotheby’s and latterly a freelance consultant and lecturer, she served for seven years on the National Trust Regional Advisory Board. Victoria is a Commissioner of Historic England where she sits on Historic Estate Conservation, Designation Review, and Audit and Risk Assurance Committees. She is also a Governor of a C of E primary school and a former Tudor Hall parent.

Rosalind Hayes, Vice Chairman of Governors. Following a degree in Geography from the University of Reading, she trained as a teacher and completed an MA in Educational Management, before becoming Head of St James's School, West Malvern for 4 years before it merged with Malvern Girls' College. She then became Head of Malvern St James, retiring in 2010. Rosalind has, until recently, been an ISI boarding co-ordinating inspector and was Chairman of AEGIS for 5 years. She currently works as an educational consultant and is also a Governor of Wychwood School, Oxford.

Mary Kinnear, a retired teacher whose career included teaching at Arnold House before moving to Dragon School where she taught for 30 years, becoming at various stages Assistant Head of day pupils, Head of Year 4, Deputy Head pre-prep and Co-ordinator Pastoral Care. Since retirement from teaching, Mary has undertaken part time administrative and marketing duties at Dragon School and is a PGCE tutor at Buckingham University.

Bob Lari is a Chartered Accountant with international experience in corporate finance. He has business interests in healthcare and property development and is currently a director of Godswell Park. Bob is a current parent of 3 at Carrdus School.  

Sez Maxted, Old Tudorian, is a partner of Maxted Farms and founder of Tree Twist. Her background is advertising, working with Ogilvy Advertising and Delaney Lund Knox Warren, before leaving to work for Draft UK as Managing Director, Draft Oxford, moving to be Managing Director of Draft London, and then Chairman of Draft London. On leaving Draft, Sez worked as a consultant for Matches Fashion Retailer working on their e-commerce business.

Mark Wiggin is Chairman of the Midlands Region, Strutt and Parker. He has a background in all aspects of property sales and is involved in professional valuation work and taxation advice. Mark is a former parent of Tudor Hall.

If you wish to contact the Chairman of Governors the postal address is:

c/o Clerk to the Governors
Tudor Hall School
Wykham Park
OX16 9UR 

Or via email:


Registered name: Tudor Hall School
Registered number: 2995266
Place of registration: England
Registered office: Wykham Park, Banbury, Oxfordshire, OX16 9UR
Charity number: 1042783